Bihar State Assembly Elections 2010

State Assembly Polls

Gujarat & Himachal

Delhi Elections 2013

2012 Elections

Past Assembly Polls

Lok Sabha Elections

Assembly Election News
. 11 February: BJP may well become Delhi’s Baazigar . 23 December: Arvind Kejriwal: Just another addition to Dirty Indian Politics . 6 May: Exit Polls suggest scam, corruption and rising prices not an issue for Karnataka Elections . 8 April: Narendra Modi Speaks on Women Empowerment . 31 March: BJP announces its new team on Sunday, emerges Modi as key core of the team. . 20 December: Assembly Election Results: Modi Wins, BJP Loses . 17 December: Gujarat election exit polls predict a massive victory for Narendra Modi

Holiday Packages

India mini .gifAssembly Electionsmini .gifBihar State Elections

Vidhansabha Elections in Bihar, Nov 2010

Live Coverage of Bihar Election Results 2010

Bihar has remained one of the poorest states in India for far too long to remember. The fact is quite strange, as when you look around, you see several IAS, IIT toppers coming out of Bihar each year. The inference is quite straight - Bihar does have the right amount of talent, but it doesn't provide enough facilities to its people to stay back and work in the state. They see greener pastures in the near-by states and move out once they get a chance.

In political scenario, Bihar was ruled by Laloo Yadav and then later by his wife Rabri Devi for over 15 years. 1990 till 1997 Bihar was under Laloo Yadav, and after corruption charges against him in the fodder scam cases, his wife Rabri Dev handled the post from 1997 to 2005. In between, Nitish Kumar became Cheif Minsiter of Bihar for a very small stint of 7 days from March 3, 2000 – March 10, 2000. Although, the state did not see much improvement in Laloo's days, his style of giving cute speeches caught nation's imagination and slowly catapulted him to the National level politics, where he enjoyed an important post of Minister of Railways from 2004 to 2009.

Although Laloo's style attracted attention to Bihar, his stint was riddled with corruption and did not show any genuine improvements for the state. His politics to uplift the lower castes, especially the Yadav community, was seen as more populist then realistic. Subsequently he lost his fan following, and in 2005 Bihar Assembly elections, Janata Dal United and BJP won with a clear majority. Nitish Kumar returned back as Chief Minister of Bihar and is said to have done a great deal of work towards the upliftment of the state, and people say Nitish Kumar's work has brought development.

Bihar Assembly Elections 2010 are scheduled to start from Oct 21st 2010 and it'd be very intersting to see if people of Bihar appreciate the work that has been done by Nitish Kumar and help bring him back to power or they decide to go back to the mighty leader Laloo Prasad Yadav and hope that he turns Bihar's downward fate just as he did with Indian Railways.

The Vidhansabha elections are expected to be fought between Laloo Yadav's Rashtriya Janata Dal and Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal. Bhartiya Janata Party will play a supporting role for JD, while Paswan's LJP and possibly the Left Front will support RJD. The Congress Party is assumed to be going alone, and may as well play a vital role in Govt formation. Nitish Kumar and JD-BJP combine does seem to be a front runner, but predicting a clear winner before the Bihar Assembly election results come out can be pretty tricky.

Some Facts on Bihar Assembly Polls 2010:

State Total No. ACs ACs reserved for SC ACs reserved for ST
Bihar 243 38 02
Electoral Rolls 5,50,88,402 Electoral Photo Identity Cards: 89% Polling Stations: 56,943

Bihar Election Schedule:

Assembly Election Phases in Bihar

Bihar 2010 Assembly polls will be held in 6 stages in almost a month long exercise. The first phase begins on 21st oct and the final 6th phase ends on 20th Nov. The counting of votes will be done on 24th Nov (Wednesday).

  1st Phase 2nd Phase 3rd Phase 4th Phase 5th Phase 6th Phase
Date of issue of Notification 27th Sep (Mon) 29th Sep (Wed) 4th Oct (Mon) 7th oct (Thu) 15th Oct (Fri) 27th oct (Wed)
Last Date for Nominations 4th Oct (Mon) 6th Oct (Wed) 11th Oct (Mon) 14th Oct (Thu) 22nd Oct (Fri) 3rd Nov (Wed)
Date for Scrutiny 5th Oct (Tue) 7th Oct (Thu) 12th Oct (Tue) 15th Oct (Fri) 23rd Oct (Sat) 4th Nov (Thu)
Last Candidature Withdrawl Date 7th Oct (Thu) 9th Oct (Sat) 14th Oct (Thu) 18th Oct (Mon) 25th Oct (Mon) 6th Nov (Sat)
Date of Polls 21st Oct (Thu) 24th Oct (Sun) 28th Oct (Thu) 1st Nov (Mon) 9th Nov (Tue) 20th Nov (Sat)
Date before which election will be completed 26th Nov (Fri) 26th Nov (Fri) 26th Nov (Fri) 26th Nov (Fri) 26th Nov (Fri) 26th Nov (Fri)

Bihar Election Results:

General Elections 2009:

In the 2009 General Elections, JD+BJP combine was the clear winner with 32 seats out of 40. Janata Dal United won 20, while BJP got 12. You can view detailed constituency wise Bihar election results here.

Assembly Results for Bihar in 2005:

The 2005 State elections in Bihar had there own share of drama. The elections were first held in Feb 2005, and the results returned a hung house with no party getting a clear majority. BJP+JD combine were the front runners with 88 seats followed by RJD+CPI combine with 77 seats. Subsequently, after 79 days on 23rd May 2005, the Bihar Assembly was dissolved and President's rule was imposed. Many did see it as a trick by the COngress to keep BJP away from power, but anyways, new poll dates were announced and re-elections held from 18th Oct to 22nd Nov 2005.

The re-elections saw BJP+JD gaining a clear majority in the house with 143 seats. RJD suffered the most losing 22 seats from the Feb elections. Ram Bilas Paswan's LJP lost 19 seats to be reduced from 29 to 10 seats.

Political Party No. of Seats (Feb 2005) No. of Seats (Nov 2005)
BJP 37 55
Janata Dal (U) 55 88
RJD 75 54
LJP 29 10
INC 10 9
Others 37 27

Detailed coverage of Bihar 2005 Assembly results is here

Bihar Assembly Constituencies for 2010 Elections:

There would be a total of 243 legislative seats from 38 districts of Bihar going to polls for Bihar 2010 Assembly elections.

Click the district names below to get election information on the constituencies:

Districtwise Bihar Vidhansabha Constituencies For 2010 Elections
Araria Gaya Madhubani Saran
Arwal Gopalganj Monghyr Shiekhpura
Aurangabad Jamui Muzaffarpur Sheohar
Banka Jehanabad Nalanda Sitamarhi
Begusarai Kaimur Nawada Siwan
Bhagalpur Katihar Patna Supaul
Bhojpur Khagaria Purnia Vaishali
Buxar Kishanganj Rohtas West Champaran
Darbhanga Lakhisarai Saharsa  
East Champaran Madhepura Samastipur  

Connection Error: Access denied for user 'indiacomments'@'localhost' (using password: YES)