West Bengal State Assembly Elections

Travel India Holidays Logo

State Assembly Polls

Gujarat & Himachal

Delhi Elections 2013

2012 Elections

Past Assembly Polls

Lok Sabha Elections

Latest Comments
. for political reform....
. CWG,2g,coalgate,RAILGATE, electricity,inflation,onion prices,tomato prices....
. AAP is new party come with the vision to root uot the corruption which is ....
. dosto aane wale 2014 lokshbha me bjp ko vote dekr modi ji pm banana aur kh....
. INC and BJP shananigans are understandable in Face of the fact that both a....
. somebody has rightly said. Ignorance is bless!....
. Dude Congress in no way going to win , BJP & AAP will share majority of se....
. are you joking. mere bhai ....
. AAP and BJP will not win. Congress will Rule again. what you think peoples....

Facebook  Twitter  India RSS

Assembly Poll!
Mamata will create a happy Bengal

India mini .gifAssembly Electionsmini .gifWest Bengal State Elections

West Bengal Vidhansabha Polls 2016

West Bengal Assembly Election Results 2011

West Bengal has been under the rule of Left Front for a long long time now. From 1977 when Jyoti Basu became the Chief Minister to till date, CPI(M) and Left Front have a solo run in the state. Jyoti Basu was the longest serving Chief Minister in Indian history and he was not just respected by his party, but equally loved by general public and other political parties. Had CPM not taken a strange decision of not participating in the Central Govt in 1996, Mr. Jyoti Basu would have been India's PM. Buddhadeb Bhattacharya was handed the CM's post after Jyoti Basu left it for health reasons, but over the years CPI(M) popularity has dwindled and the 2011 Assembly Elections are going to be a real tough test for the Left Front.

The prime contender to the Left Front regime in West Bengal is Mamata Banerjee, leader of Trinamool Congress. She is believed to be a common person's leader and her opposition of land acquisitions, which finally forced Tata Nano car project to be moved out of West Bengal, highlighted her desire to help farmers of the region. If she has to win over the 2011 elections, she may need some good support from the Congress. Congress had a free-run in the state for most years between 1947 to 1977. However, with the rise of Jyoti Basu, Congress found its popularity dwindling. But with Mamata Banerjee as an ally, Congress can hope of winning and taking part in Govt formation in 2011.

Some facts on West Bengal Assembly Polls 2011:
State Districts Total Constituencies Electoral Rolls Polling Stations
West Bengal 32 294 (68 for SC and 16 for ST) 5,60,91,973 51,919

West Bengal Election Schedule:

West Bengal Assembly Constituency map for 2011 elections

West Bengal Elections 2011 was held in 6 phases. The first phase was on 18th April and the final 6th phase ended on 10th May. The counting of votes will be done on 13th May (Friday).

1st Phase(54) 2nd Phase(50) 3rd Phase(75) 4th Phase(63) 5th Phase(38) 6th Ph(14)
Date of issue of Notification 24.3.2011 (Thursday)  30.3.2011 (Wednesday)  2.4.2011 (Saturday)  7.4.2011 (Thursday)  11.4.2011 (Monday)  14.4.2011 (Thursday) 
Last Date for Nominations 31.3.2011 (Thursday)  6.4.2011 (Wednesday)  9.4.2011 (Saturday)  14.4.2011 (Thursday)  18.4.2011 (Monday)  21.4.2011 (Thursday) 
Date for Scrutiny 2.4.2011 (Saturday)  7.4.2011 (Thursday)  11.4.2011 (Monday)  16.4.2011 (Saturday)  19.4.2011 (Tuesday)  23.4.2011 (Saturday) 
Last Candidature Withdrawl Date 4.4.2011 (Monday)  9.4.2011 (Saturday)  13.4.2011 (Wednesday)  18.4.2011 (Monday)  21.4.2011 (Thursday)  25.4.2011 (Monday) 
Date of Polls 18.4.2011 (Monday)  23.4.2011 (Saturday)  27.4.2011 (Wednesday)  3.5.2011 (Tuesday)  7.5.2011 (Saturday)  10.5.2011 (Tuesday) 
Date before which election will be completed 18.5.2011 (Wednesday)  18.5.2011 (Wednesday)  18.5.2011 (Wednesday)  18.5.2011 (Wednesday)  18.5.2011 (Wednesday)  18.5.2011 (Wednesday) 

West Bengal Election Results:

General Elections 2009:

In the 2009 General Elections, Trinamool Congress emerged as the clear winner. No one expected such good results for Mamata Banerjee. Trinamul won 19 out of the total 42 seats. CPM managed just 9 with Congress winning only 6. Detailed West Bengal election results are here.

Assembly Results for WB in 2006:

CPM was the biggest gainer in the 2006 Vidhansabha Polls. It ended up winning 175 seats alone out of the total 294, and the Left Front coalition won 233 seats. CPM gained 32 seats then last elections in 2001. Trinamul Congress was the biggest loser and lost almost 50% of its total seats from the 2001 polls. It just won 29 seats. Congress lost 5 seats from last polls and ended at 21.

BJP doesn't really have a base in West Bengal yet and it is evident from the fact that it has not won a single assembly seat in either 2001 or 2006 polls.

Political Party No. of Seats Constituents
Left Front 233 CPM: 175, AIFB: 23, RSP: 20, CPI: 9, WBSP: 4, RJD: 1, DSP(P): 1, NCP:0
Trinamool Congress+ 30 AITC: 29, JKP(N): 1, BJP: 0, JD(U): 0
Congress+ 24 INC: 21, GNLF: 3 and 6 other parties
Independents 6

Detailed coverage of West Bengal 2006 Assembly results is here.

West Bengal Assembly Constituencies for 2011 Elections:

There would be a total of 294 legislative seats from 19 districts of WB going to polls for West Bengal 2011 Assembly elections.

Click the district names below to get constituency maps, election information and past results:

Districtwise West Bengal Constituencies For 2016 Elections
KolkataMaldaMedinipur EastMedinipur West
MurshidabadNadiaNorth 24 ParganasNorth Dinajpur
PuruliaSouth 24 ParganasSouth Dinajpur


Friday, January 27, 2012

Sishu more, Krishak more, Sromik more. Sarkar bole sobi maya. Mediar Prochar.

sabbir   kolkata

Friday, February 3, 2012

toder goom peyeche bari ja, bari ja

Biswajit durgapur   

Monday, April 9, 2012

Tobe bondhura jene rekho valo kore sabe 11months hoeche tatei suru hoegeche kritton .chinta nai ar 4te years wait koro amar katha miliye nio cpim abar khamata aschi with majoriti.


Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Kichu bolte voi lagche. Jodi police dhore nie jai. Tai Chup.

Manoswita Paul   Bondel Gate

Sunday, March 25, 2012

27 tarikher por abar kobe bondhuder shongge dekha hobe?


Friday, January 27, 2012

Sishu more, Krishak more, Sromik more. Sarkar bole sobi maya. Mediar Prochar.


Tuesday, January 10, 2012

Aage Teacher ra marto, sason korto. Ekhon Student ra Teacher der mare, sason kore. Etai hoche poriborton.

Displaying 1-6 of about 969 records

First  |  Previous  |  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Next  |  Last  |  
Post Comments
Name :
EmailID :
Location :
Party I Support :
Comments :

Indian Hotels | India News | Trends | Real Estate | New Pages | Advertise With Us | Site Map | Website By
Copyright © 2008 - 2020 TIG India Travel | Privacy Policy