15th India Lok Sabha General Elections, 2009

The 2014 Indian Lok Sabha General Elections Coverage

Lok Sabha Elections

General Elections 2009

Assembly Elections

Feedback Poll!
You have already voted in this poll

What should we improve on?
Looks(20.0 %)
Information(20.0 %)
Maps(30.0 %)
Election News(30.0 %)
Total votes: 10

Election 09 at a Glance
mini The elections of 2009 will mark the 15th Lok Sabha Electionmini Voting scheduled from Apr 16th to May 13th, with Results on May 16thmini 714 million voters, 43m more than elections of 2004mini 8,28,804 polling stations, 1.36m EVMs, 4m civic officials, 2.1m security officialsmini Photo electoral rolls to be used for first time in 522 of total 543 constituenciesmini Total expenditure estimated to be around Rs. 10,000 croremini A polling booth in the interiors of Gir forest in Junagadh has one votermini In Chhattisgarh, one polling booth has been made for just two votersmini In Arunachal Pradesh, three booths have been made for three voters each

Joys of India

The Destinations

Interactive India

Maps of India

India Weather

India mini .gifIndian General Elections 2009

The Indian Lok Sabha General Elections '2009

Click here for Assembly Elections 2009 Results.

Update May 16th:

The big day is here. And, as like the entire election duration, we'll be here with you, serving you updated results from all across India:

Apr 10th:

Countdown to The Great Indian Elections 2009 - The 15th Lok Sabha Election has now begun. The Election Commission has formally confirmed the dates for the Parliamentary elections. The Lok Sabha elections of 2009 will take place on 5 days, spread between April 16th and May 13th, and the counting of the voting ballots will take place on May 16th. June 2nd has been set as a deadline for the start of the 15th Lok Sabha.

A total of 71.4 crore voters are set to exercise their voting rights through 11 lakh electronic voting machines. In the last Lok Sabha elections of 2004, the number of voters was 67.1 crores. Of the total 543 constituencies, 499 will have new boundaries as a result of the new delimitation rules. Due to delimitation rules, the number of scheduled caste constituencies will go up to 84 from 79 and scheduled tribe seats will move to 47 from 41. This will mark the first elections in which photo electoral rolls will be used in 522 constituencies. Politicians who have been convicted in criminal cases and sentenced to more than two years in prison, have been disqualified from contesting in these elections.

The total budget for the Parliamentary elections in India has been set to a whopping Rs. 10,000 crore, or $ 2 billion, which would all be spend in a matter of few months. Compare this with Barrack Obama and other candidates collectively spending close to US $ 1.8 billion (nearly Rs 8,000 crore) in the year long presidential elections in USA, and you'll get to see the huge magnitude of the Indian general elections of 2009. The cost of general elections in India is going to be more than double this year as compared to about Rs 4,500 crore spent in last Lok Sabha polls of 2004.

The Contenders for India Elections 2009:

The Congress led United Progressive Alliance and the BJP led National Democratic Alliance form the primary contenders for the Lok Sabha polls of 2009, but the Third Front can easily emerge as the crucial factor. If both BJP and Congress led coalitions do not achieve the majority, it'd be Third Front's support which will decide who forms the next Government.

The Prime Ministerial Candidates:

1. UPA: Dr. Manmohan Singh

2. NDA: MR. L. K. Advani

3. Third Front: Depends on which party wins the most seats

  UPA or United Progressive Alliance NDA or National Democratic Alliance Third Front Others
2009 Poll Manifestos Congress Manifesto BJP Manifesto CPI Manifesto SP Manifesto
2004 Election Results Cong: 145
DMK: 16
NCP: 9
RJD: 24
Lok Jan Shakti: 4
TRS: 5
PMK: 6
JMM: 5
RPI(A): 1

Total: 221
BJP: 138
JD(U): 8
Trinamool Congress: 2
Shiv Sena: 12
Shiromani Akali Dal: 8
Biju Janata Dal: 11
Naga People's Front: 1
Mizo National Front: 1

Total: 181
CPM: 43
CPI: 10
RSP: 3
Forward Bloc: 3
Kerala Congress: 1
IND: 1

Total: 61
BSP: 19
SP: 36
TDP: 5
JD(S): 3
RLD: 3
AGP: 2
National Conf: 2
Sikkim Dem. Front: 1
NLP: 1
SJP: 1
BNP: 1
Independents: 4
Total: 80

Lok Sabha Polls 2009 Schedule:

No. of Seats
States voting that day
Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal, Assam, Bihar, J&K, Kerala, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, UP, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Andaman, Lakshadweep (1715 Contestants)
Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Goa, J&K, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Orissa, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand
Bihar, Gujarat, J&K, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Sikkim, UP, West Bengal, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu
Bihar, Haryana, Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Delhi
Himachal Pradesh, J&K, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Puducherry
Counting of votes & Results Poll Results. Next Lok Sabha to start before June 2nd.

The 2009 Elections Map of India:

Mouse-over on the respective state names to know the election dates in that state. Click on the state names for more news.

Want to buy our India Elections Map for your website? Contact us now.

Valid CSS!Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalIndian Hotels | India News | Real Estate | New Pages | Advertise With Us | Site Map | Website By
Copyright © 2008 - 2012 TIG India Travel | Privacy Policy