Candidate list for Parliamentary Election 2009 in Delhi

The 2014 Indian Lok Sabha General Elections Coverage

Lok Sabha Elections

General Elections 2009

Assembly Elections

Recent Comments

Feedback Poll!
Was our election 2009 coverage good?
No idea


Election 09 at a Glance
mini The polls of 2009 will mark the 15th Lok Sabha Electionmini Voting scheduled from Apr 16th to May 13th, with Results on May 16thmini 714 million voters, 43m more than elections of 2004mini 8,28,804 polling stations, 1.36m EVMs, 4m civic officials, 2.1m security officialsmini Photo electoral rolls to be used for first time in 522 of total 543 constituenciesmini Total expenditure estimated to be around Rs. 10,000 croremini A polling booth in the interiors of Gir forest in Junagadh has one votermini In Chhattisgarh, one polling booth has been made for just two votersmini In Arunachal Pradesh, three booths have been made for three voters each

Joys of India

The Destinations

Interactive India

Maps of India

India Weather

Join Our Newsletter
 Subscribe     Unsubscribe
List to subscribe to:

India mini .gifGeneral Elections mini .gifDelhi Candidate List

The Contenders and Pretenders of Delhi Election

The Lok Sabha election delimitation map for Delhi

Disclaimer: While all efforts have been made to make this image accurate, we at Eternity Infosystems Pvt. Ltd. do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Delhi is going to witness polling for the India Lok Sabha Election 2009 on 7th May. The major political parties, BJP, Congress and BSP have released their candidate lists and the poll season has truly begun in Delhi. Three sitting MLA's have made it to the list of election candidates contesting for a MP post in Delhi 2009 Elections. Two MLA's- Janakpuri's Jagdish Mukhi and Tughlakabad's Ramesh Bidhuri, belong to BJP, and third is Congress's Dwarka MLA, Mahabal Mishra, from Dwarka.

MP Candidates from Delhi:

Here's a list of top contenders from Delhi for the 15th Lok Sabha Polls on May 7th. Owing to the infamous, or now famous, shoe thrown at the Finance Minister, and the subsequent uproar by the Sikh community, Congress was forced to remove Jagdish Tytler and Sajjan Kumar as its election candidates. If you'd like to have a look at who won in the 2004 Polls, then see Delhi 2004 MP's.





Chandni Chowk map

Chandni Chowk

Kapil Sibal - Congress

Kapil Sibal

He is the minister for science and tech and the current MP. Heavily backed by Muslims and SC voters.

Vijender Gupta

Vijender Gupta

He is MCD's standing committee chairman and is expecting votes from trader support.


Haji Mustaqueem

A meat exporter, he along with Shoaib Iqbal, LJP spirant, may play spoilsport for Congress.

New Delhi Map

New Delhi

Ajay Maken

Ajay Maken

Is expecting votes for his role in plugging the gaps of the Master plan and implementation of Sixth Pay Commission.

Vijay Goel

Vijay Goel

He is a three time MP, but is now contesting from a different constituency.

no image for bsp

Trilok C. Sharma

A DDA contractor, he is believed to have a strong base in areas like Patel Nagar, Rajinder Nagar.

South Delhi map

South Delhi

no image

Ramesh Kumar

Although he is a past MLA, his claim to fame is as brother of Sajjan Kumar, who is not contesting because of widespread protests.

Ramesh Bidhuri

Ramesh Bidhuri

Two-time MLA from Tughlakabad seat, will be a rallying point for Gujjars.

no image

Kanwar S. Tanwar

with a total worth of Rs. 150 Crore, one of the richest candidates may split Gujjar votes.

East Delhi map

East Delhi

Sandeep Dikshit - Congress

Sandeep Dikshit

He is the sitting MP and will have the ongoing 2010 Games projects under his supervision as poll agenda.

Chetan Chauhan

Chetan Chauhan

Ex-cricketer, can face a hard time, connecting with the people, as the current MP has had a farther reach.

no image

Haji Yunus

He is a builder and developer who expects to make some dents in the Muslim and OBC votes.

North-east Delhi map

North-East Delhi

no image

J P Agarwal

Previous MLA, current Rajya Sabah Member and DPCC President, he has nothing to lose after the elections.

no image for bjp

BL Sharma Prem

Two times MP, he is making a comeback after some time & is expecting Sikh support.

bsp mp candidate

Haji Dilshad

Although he lost year Assembly elections from babarpur seat, BSP is banking on Muslim vote.

West Delhi map

West Delhi

Mahabal Mishra

Mahabal Mishra

Current MLA from Dwarka, he flaunts his poorvanchali roots and expects votes from SC/OBC and middle class.

Jagdish Mukhi

Jagdish Mukhi

He is an ex-leader of opposition in Assembly, expects to gather votes from Punjabi community.

contender or pretender, you decide

Deepak Bharadwaj

Expected to fight hoping with his Sarvjan appeal.

North-west Delhi map

North-West Delhi

Krishna Tirath

Krishna Tirath

Current MP, and former deputy speaker of Assembly, she is a known face and expects the Jatav votes.

no image for BJP

Meera Kawaria

Former Mayor and current Subhash Nagar councillor, she's expected to have a hard time against Tirath.

No image for this poll

Rakesh Hans

Banking on the traditional dalit votebank of BSP, Rakesh Hans is not expected to go too far.

Entries Per Page
Displaying Page of

Constituency List for 2009 Polls in Delhi:

Delhi, has a total of 7 constituencies, and owing to the new delimitation rules, the boundaries for each constituency has considerably changed. Here's a profile of the Parliamentary seats of Delhi for 2009:


Voters (As on 1st Jan)


Top Contenders

Chandni Chowk 14,10,480 Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri Nagar, Wazirpur, Model Town, Sadar Bazar, Chandni Chowk, Matia Mahal and Ballimaran. INC: Kapil Sibal (Current MP)
BJP: Vijender Gupta
BJP: Haji Mustaqueem
New Delhi 13,63,126 Karol Bagh, Patel Nagar, Moti Nagar, Delhi Cantonment, Rajinder Nagar, New Delhi, Kasturba Nagar, Malvia Nagar, RK Puram and Greater Kailash. INC: Ajay Maken (Current MP)
BJP: Vijay Goel
INC: Trilok Chandra Sharma
South Delhi 15,39,768 Bijwasan, Palam, Mehrauli, Chhatarpur, Deoli, Ambedkar Nagar, Sangam Vihar, Kalkaji, Tughlakabad and Badarpur. INC: Sajjan Kumar (Current MP from Outer Delhi)
BJP: Ramesh Bhandari
BSP: Kanwar Singh Tanwar
East Delhi 16,04,180 Jangpura, Okhla, Trilokpuri, Kondli, Patparganj, Laxmi Nagar, Vishwas Nagar, Krishna Nagar, Ganhi Nagar and Shahdara. INC: Sandeep Dikshit (Current MP)
BJP: Chetan Chauhan
BSP: Haji Yunus
North-East Delhi 16,72,608 Burari, Timarpur, Seemapuri, Rohtas Nagar, Seelampur, Ghonda, Badarpur, Gokalpur, Mustafabad and Karawal Nagar. INC: Jagdish Tytler
BJP: BL Sharma Prem
BSP: Haji Dilshad
West Delhi 16,84,275 Madipur, Rajouri Garden, Hari Nagar, Tilak Nagar, Janakpuri, Vikaspuri, Uttam Nagar, Dwarka, Matiala and Najafgarh. INC: Mahabal Mishra
BJP: Jagdish Mukhi
BSP: Deepak Bharadwaj
North-West Delhi 17,94,278 Narela, Badli, Rithala, Bawana, Mundka, Kirari, Sultanpur, Majra, nangloi Jat, Mangol Puri and Rohini. INC: Krishna Tirath (Current MP)
BJP: Meera Kawaria
BSP: Rakesh Hans
Entries Per Page
Displaying Page of

The 2009 India Elections Map:

Mouse-over on the respective state names to know the election dates in that state. Click on the state names for more news.

Want to buy our Delhi Election Map? Contact us now.

Valid CSS!Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalIndian Hotels | India News | Real Estate | New Pages | Advertise With Us | Site Map | Website By
Copyright © 2008 - 2012 TIG India Travel | Privacy Policy