Phase I of India 2009 Elections

The 2014 Indian Lok Sabha General Elections Coverage

Lok Sabha Elections

General Elections 2009

Assembly Elections

Recent Comments

Feedback Poll!
Was our election 2009 coverage good?
No idea


Election 09 at a Glance
mini The elections of 2009 will mark the 15th Lok Sabha Electionmini Voting scheduled from Apr 16th to May 13th, with Results on May 16thmini 714 million voters, 43m more than elections of 2004mini 8,28,804 polling stations, 1.36m EVMs, 4m civic officials, 2.1m security officialsmini Photo electoral rolls to be used for first time in 522 of total 543 constituenciesmini Total expenditure estimated to be around Rs. 10,000 croremini A polling booth in the interiors of Gir forest in Junagadh has one votermini In Chhattisgarh, one polling booth has been made for just two votersmini In Arunachal Pradesh, three booths have been made for three voters each

Joys of India

The Destinations

Interactive India

Maps of India

India Weather

Join Our Newsletter
 Subscribe     Unsubscribe
List to subscribe to:

India mini .gifIndian General Elections 2009mini .gifFirst Phase

Lok Sabha General Elections Phase I

First phase map for the polls

India Elections 2009 kicked off today, April 16th'2009, with the first phase of votings in 17 states and Union Territories. From 7 a.m. Thursday morning, fate of 1,715 candidates will start to get recorded in the electronic voting machines. A total of 124 parliamentary constituencies will go to polls on 16th April. Although, the voters will have to wait for over a month to know the results, as the counting for all constituencies will be done together on the 16th May.

States and Union Territories going to polls today are Arunachal Pradesh, Kerala, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Chhattisgarh, the Andaman & Nicobar Islands and Lakhsadweep. Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh and Orissa are also being held simultaneously. Hence, 154 Assembly constituencies of Andhra Pradesh and 70 of Orissa will witness elections on Thursday as well.

Before you go out to vote today, please keep in mind that 222 candidates contesting today have criminal records against them. 21 have been booked for Killing people, 38 for attempt to murder and 14 under charges of kidnapping. Bihar has 51 of its 222 candidates with criminal cases, Andhra Pradesh has 34 of 314, Jharkhand has 17 of 79, Uttar Pradesh has 46 of 268 and Chhattisgarh 9 of 171.

Fate of some big names were entered in the EVM's today. Some of them include RJD supremo Lalu Prasad Yadav from Saran, BJP's Sushma Swaraj, and also stalwart Murli Manohar Joshi from Varanasi, Yashwant Sinha from Hazaribagh, TRS chief K Chandrasekhara Rao from Mehaboobnagar, NCP's Praful Patel from Bhandara-Gondia, Congress's Meira Kumar, daughter of Jagjeevan Ram, from Sasaram and Renuka Chowdhury from Khammam. (More names in list below.)

Understanding Phase I Polls:

  • Number of Parliamentary Constituencies going to polls: 124
  • Assembly constituencies going to polls in Andhra Pradesh: 154 of 294
  • Assemble constituencies going to polls in Orissa: 70 of 147
  • Number of candidates: 1,715
  • Number of women candidates: 122
  • Number of polling stations: 1,85,552
  • Number of voters: 14.31 cr
  • Number of EVMs to be used: 3,00,166
  • Number of polling staff: 9 lakh
  • Number of people identified as potelntial trouble-makers: 1.3 lakh
  • Number of people against whom action has been taken: 1.25 lakh

Update - How First Phase polls went:

First Phase polls on Apr 16t

Almost 60 % voting was recorded in the first phase of the Lok Sabha polls. Bihar had a 40-45 % voter turnout and some violence as naxal's shot dead two security personnel in Gaya district. Andhra Pradesh recorded 68% voting, with Medak receiving highest of 75% and state capital Hyderabad lowest with just 54%. Kerala saw 73.33% voters coming out while it was 64% in Assam. Nagaland saw a 55 to 60 % turnout for its single parliamentarys seat and by-poll in four assemble segments. Ramanthuruth saw a 88.23% voting percentage, but the fact is there were just 17 voters here, of which 2 did not vote.

Total 19 people were killed in naxal fights in the first phase of votings. 9 in Jharkhand, 7 in Chhattisgarh and 3 in Bihar.

Phase I seat winners in 2004 & 2009 predictions:

No. of Seats
2004 Results
Major Candidates in 2009
Opinion for 2009
RJD: 8
JD (U): 2
Congress: 2
BJP: 1
Lalu Prasad (RJD)
Prabhunath Singh (JD (U))
Meira Kumar (Cong)
Kanti Singh (RJD)
NDA set to gain: In Bhojpur and South Bihar, Cong is creating a buzz, but that may not give it more seats than 2004. With Lalu loosing some of his seats, NDA is set to gain.
SP: 7
BSP: 5
BJP: 2
Cong: 2
Others: 2
Murli Manohar Joshi (BJP)
Mukhtar Ansari (BSP)
Afzal Ansari (BSP)
Yogi Adityanath (BJP)
Akbar Ahmed (BSP)
SP on shaky ground: In eastern UP, SP was clear winner in 2004, with 7 seats. This time, Mulayam-Kalyan friendship has made muslims wary.
BJP: 7
SHS: 5
Cong: 1
NCP: 1
Vilas Muttemwar (Cong)
Praful Patel (Cong)
Mukul Wasnik (Cong)
Ashok Nete (BJP)
No saffron sweep: 10 of the 13 seats are in Vidarbha. In 2004, BJP-SS swept 10 out of 11. Cong-NCP looks better placed this time.
CPM: 12
CPI: 3
Ind & Others: 5
Shashi Tharoor (Congress)
Hussain Randathani (Ind)
E Ahamad (IUML)
K Muraleedharan (NCP)
CPM on back foot: Last time it was a redwash; CPM led front had 18 out of 20. 3 years of near-dysfunctional Govt and faction fighting in CPM havee given hopes to Cong of a total revival. CPM should be happy if it manages to hold on to 7 seats.
Cong: 9
TDP: 4
TRS: 5
Left: 2
Renuka Chowdhury (Cong)
Asaduddin Owaisi (MIM)
D Purandareswari (Cong)
S Jaipal Reddy (Cong)
Bandaru Dattarya (BJP)
Congress may hold on:Cong won 9 of these 22 in 2004, with ally TRS 5. TRS is now with TDP, but Cong may not be badly hit as TRS seats were in Telangana. Cong should be able to maintain its hold, minus one or two seats in coastal Andhra.
BJP: 5
BJD: 3
Cong: 2
Giridhar Gamang (Cong)
Jual Oram (BJP)
Sangeeta Singh Deo (BJP)
Ashok Sahu (BJP)
Split could hurt BJD: In naxal-hiot zone, BJP-BJP had 8 out of 10. With them parting ways, Cong should gain.
BJP: 10
Cong: 1
Dilip Singh Judeo (BJP)
Renu Jogi (Cong)
Karuna Shukla (BJP)
Charan Das Mahant (Cong)
Dauram Ratnakar (BSP)
Ramesh Bais (BJP)
BJP encore not easy: BJP won 10 last time, and also Assembly election after that. Raman Singh still the tallest leader in the state. But a near sweep is a tough act to repeat and BJP can end up losing a couple of seats.
Cong: 2
RJD: 2
BJP: 1
CPI: 1
Yashwant Sinha (BJP) BJP set to gain: With the previous allies Cong & RJD fighting against each other, BJP can gain some seats here.
JD (U): 1    
Cong: 1    
Ind/others: 1    
BJP: 2    
Cong: 3    
Cong: 1
Trinamool: 1
* with exerpts from Indian Express

The 2009 Elections Map of India:

Mouse-over on the respective state names to know the election dates in that state. Click on the state names for more news.

Want to buy our India Elections 2009 Map for your website? Contact us now.

Valid CSS!Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalIndian Hotels | India News | Real Estate | New Pages | Advertise With Us | Site Map | Website By
Copyright © 2008 - 2012 TIG India Travel | Privacy Policy