Elections for Lok Sabha seats & constituencies of Delhi

The 2014 Indian Lok Sabha General Elections Coverage

Lok Sabha Elections

General Elections 2009

Assembly Elections

Recent Comments

Feedback Poll!
Was our election 2009 coverage good?
No idea


Election 09 at a Glance
mini The polls of 2009 will mark the 15th Lok Sabha Electionmini Voting scheduled from Apr 16th to May 13th, with Results on May 16thmini 714 million voters, 43m more than elections of 2004mini 8,28,804 polling stations, 1.36m EVMs, 4m civic officials, 2.1m security officialsmini Photo electoral rolls to be used for first time in 522 of total 543 constituenciesmini Total expenditure estimated to be around Rs. 10,000 croremini A polling booth in the interiors of Gir forest in Junagadh has one votermini In Chhattisgarh, one polling booth has been made for just two votersmini In Arunachal Pradesh, three booths have been made for three voters each

Joys of India

The Destinations

Interactive India

Maps of India

India Weather

Join Our Newsletter
 Subscribe     Unsubscribe
List to subscribe to:

India mini .gifGeneral Elections mini .gifDelhi Election Constituencies

The 7 Lok Sabha seats & Constituencies of Delhi

The Lok Sabha election delimitation map for Delhi

Disclaimer: While all efforts have been made to make this image accurate, we at Eternity Infosystems Pvt. Ltd. do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Click here for 2009 Delhi Election Results!

Owing to the new delimitation rules, active for the first time in Delhi elections of 2009, Delhi will now have 7 Lok Sabha Constituencies going for polls on 7th May 2009 with new geographical boundaries. 10 assembly constituencies have been amalgamated in Chandni Chowk and from north to east with Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Tri Nagar and Wazirpur are now a part of the Chandni Chowk seat. New Delhi Lok Sabha seat now also contains Patel Nagar, Moti Nagar, Rajinder Nagar and Karol Bagh, along with the earlier Delhi constituencies of Delhi cantonment, south Delhi, Malvia Nagar and Greater Kailash. East Delhi now features Jangpura, Okhla, Krishna Nagar and Shahdara. The north-east Delhi constituencies extend from Burari and Timarpur in north to Seemapuri and Seelampur in the east.

The delimitation rules have also led to current MP's having to chose wider or newer areas to contest delhi elections. Chandni Chowk MP Kapil Sibal is now having a wider area of voters to please. Jagdish Tytler, MP from Sadar Bazar constituency is now probably going to contest from north-east Delhi as Sadar bazar was merged with Chandni Chowk area. Ajay Maken, current MP from New Delhi, has 40 new urban villages to look after. The Karol Bagh constituency was merged with New Delhi, and so the current MP Krishna Tirath is said to be looking to contest from north-west Delhi, which is a reserved constituency. Current MP Sajjan Kumar's outer Delhi is now west Delhi parliamentary constituency, and he will have to contest from somewhere else. Same is the case with MP Sandeep Dikshit, who won from East Delhi constituency, which is now divided as east and north-east constituencies.

Vote Day 7th May:

  • Poll day in Delhi is a public holiday. It's also a dry day from May 5 to may7 and also on counting day of May 16th.
  • As many as 110.95 lakh voters with 61.88 lakh men and 49.07 lakh women eligible for voting.
  • Total 11,348 polling stations in Delhi. Averag number of voters per station is 978.
  • Highest 41 candidates from Chandni Chowk and lowest 15 from South and West Delhi constituencies.
  • Metro service will begin at 4am 12 midnight and DTC and Blueline buses from 3.30 am to 12 midnight on poll day.

Constituency Profile for 2009 Election:

Delhi, being the political center of the country, always holds importance during the elections. This being the Lok Sabha elections, the importance of Delhi elections increases manifolds. With the new boundaries, it'd be good to see who gets to contest from which seat. Here's a profile of the Lok Sabha seats of Delhi for 2009:


Voters (As on 1st Jan)


Top Contenders

Assembly Results Vote % (2008)

Chandni Chowk 14,10,480 Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri Nagar, Wazirpur, Model Town, Sadar Bazar, Chandni Chowk, Matia Mahal and Ballimaran. INC: Kapil Sibal (Current MP)
BJP: Vijender Gupta
BJP: Haji Mustaqueem
INC: 43.6
BJP: 40.0
BSP: 8.3
New Delhi 13,63,126 Karol Bagh, Patel Nagar, Moti Nagar, Delhi Cantonment, Rajinder Nagar, New Delhi, Kasturba Nagar, Malvia Nagar, RK Puram and Greater Kailash. INC: Ajay Maken (Current MP)
BJP: Vijay Goel
INC: Trilok Chandra Sharma
INC: 44.5
BJP: 43.5
BSP: 9.1
South Delhi 15,39,768 Bijwasan, Palam, Mehrauli, Chhatarpur, Deoli, Ambedkar Nagar, Sangam Vihar, Kalkaji, Tughlakabad and Badarpur. INC: Sajjan Kumar (Current MP from Outer Delhi)
BJP: Ramesh Bhandari
BSP: Kanwar Singh Tanwar
INC: 36.1
BJP: 31.5
BSP: 24.5
East Delhi 16,04,180 Jangpura, Okhla, Trilokpuri, Kondli, Patparganj, Laxmi Nagar, Vishwas Nagar, Krishna Nagar, Ganhi Nagar and Shahdara. INC: Sandeep Dikshit (Current MP)
BJP: Chetan Chauhan
BSP: Haji Yunus
INC: 46.8
BJP: 34.9
BSP: 12.13
North-East Delhi 16,72,608 Burari, Timarpur, Seemapuri, Rohtas Nagar, Seelampur, Ghonda, Badarpur, Gokalpur, Mustafabad and Karawal Nagar. INC: Jagdish Tytler
BJP: BL Sharma Prem
BSP: Haji Dilshad
INC: 35.8
BJP: 33.8
BSP: 17.7
West Delhi 16,84,275 Madipur, Rajouri Garden, Hari Nagar, Tilak Nagar, Janakpuri, Vikaspuri, Uttam Nagar, Dwarka, Matiala and Najafgarh. INC: Mahabal Mishra
BJP: Jagdish Mukhi
BSP: Deepak Bharadwaj
INC: 38.0
BJP: 39.3
BSP: 24.5
North-West Delhi 17,94,278 Narela, Badli, Rithala, Bawana, Mundka, Kirari, Sultanpur, Majra, nangloi Jat, Mangol Puri and Rohini. INC: Krishna Tirath (Current MP)
BJP: Meera Kawaria
BSP: Rakesh Hans
INC: 38.7
BJP: 36.0
BSP: 16.5
Entries Per Page
Displaying Page of

Current (2004) MP's from Delhi:

Here's a list of MP's who have served you for the last 5 years. If you want to have a look at who got the ticket to contest elections this year, see Delhi 2009 Election Candidates.




Margin of Victory

Funds Allotted

Funds Spent

Sandeep Dikshit - Congress

Sandeep Dikshit

East Delhi 2,29,779 Rs. 26.05 cr Rs. 18.92 cr

V K Malhotra - BJP

V K Malhotra

South Delhi
Rs. 26.05 cr
Rs. 16.87 cr

Krishna Tirath - Congress

Krishna Tirath

Karol Bagh
Rs. 26.05 cr
Rs. 19.33 cr

Sajjan Kumar - Congress

Sajjan Kumar


Outer Delhi
Rs. 26.05 cr
Rs. 18.28 cr

Ajay Maken - Congress

Ajay Maken

New Delhi
Rs. 26.05 cr
Rs. 22 cr

Kapil Sibal - Congress

Kapil Sibal

Chandni Chowk
Rs. 26.05 cr
Rs. 17.22 cr
Entries Per Page
Displaying Page of

The 2009 India Elections Map:

Mouse-over on the respective state names to know the election dates in that state. Click on the state names for more news.

Want to buy our Delhi Election Map? Contact us now.

Valid CSS!Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalIndian Hotels | India News | Real Estate | New Pages | Advertise With Us | Site Map | Website By
Copyright © 2008 - 2012 TIG India Travel | Privacy Policy