Phase Four of India 2009 Election Polls

The 2014 Indian Lok Sabha General Elections Coverage

Lok Sabha Elections

General Elections 2009

Assembly Elections

Feedback Poll!
What should we improve on?
Election News


Election 09 at a Glance
mini The elections of 2009 will mark the 15th Lok Sabha Electionmini Voting scheduled from Apr 16th to May 13th, with Results on May 16thmini 714 million voters, 43m more than elections of 2004mini 8,28,804 polling stations, 1.36m EVMs, 4m civic officials, 2.1m security officialsmini Photo electoral rolls to be used for first time in 522 of total 543 constituenciesmini Total expenditure estimated to be around Rs. 10,000 croremini A polling booth in the interiors of Gir forest in Junagadh has one votermini In Chhattisgarh, one polling booth has been made for just two votersmini In Arunachal Pradesh, three booths have been made for three voters each

Joys of India

The Destinations

Interactive India

Maps of India

India Weather

India mini .gifIndian General Elections 2009mini .gifFourth Phase Polling

Lok Sabha General Elections Phase Four

Fourth phase constituencies map for India polls

Phase 4 polls of India 2009 elections can be considered as a north and north-east India polls. It also brings the make or break period for the BJP, which generally does better in the northern regions of India, then anywhere else. Rajasthan and Delhi go to polls with all their constituencies in the fourth phase. The fourth phase voting is scheduled from 7am to 5pm, though four assembly segments - Islampur and Hilsa in Nalanda parliamentary constituency and Masauri and Paligani in the Patiliputra LS constituency - in Bihar will have polling from 7 am to 3 pm only. In total, 85 Lok Sabha constituencies will goto poll in the 4th phase. The only states left to vote after today will be Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Tamil Nadu.

The major candidates in the fourth phase of elections include some real actors like Shatrughan Sinha and Shekhar Suman from Bihar, Raj Babbar from Uttar Pradesh and Bengali actor Tapash Pal. Some former Chief Ministers are also in the fray which include Farooq Abdulla from Jammu and Kashmir and Bhajan Lal from Haryana, Lalu Prasad from Bihar and Mulayam Yadav from UP.

Fourth Phase updates:

Fourth phase of general elections in India saw a 57% voter turnout, which is equivalent to almost 95 million voters coming out to cast votes. Delhi saw a voter turnout of 50.03% which was nearly 8% below the Assembly elections turnout. Srinagar from Jammu and Kashmir showed dismal turnouts of just 1.75% to 14.05% in its 8 assembly segments. Haryana polled 63%, Punjab 65% and West Bengal the highest with 75%. Some stray incidents led to the death of 4 people including a voter.

Understanding Phase 4 Polls:

  • Number of Parliamentary Constituencies going to polls: 85
  • Number of candidates: 1,315
  • Number of women candidates: 119
  • Number of polling stations: 1.29 L
  • Number of voters: 9.46 cr
  • Number of EVM's: 1,71,902
  • Number of Polling staff: 6.5 L
  • Number of identified miscreants: 60,405
Polling Seats
2004 Results
2009 Predictions
BJP: 21
Cong: 4
BJP set for losses: last time BJP won 21, but looking towards heavy losses this time.


SP: 9
BJP: 3
Cong: 3
BSP: 1
Ind & Oth: 2
SP might gain: BJP and Congress are stronger this time, might cut BSP votes and help SP.
West Bengal
CPM: 14
Cong: 3
Left not on right foot: Trinamoll-Congress is expected to gain seats from Left.
Cong: 9
BJP: 1
Cong may hold on: COng might not win 9 again, but is well placed in most constituencies.
Cong: 6
BJP: 1
Not much change: Congress won 6 last time, and doesn't look like a big improvement for BJP this time as well.
SAD: 3
Cong: 1
SAD might lose: SAD might not even win 1 seat out of 4 this time.


RJD: 2
JD(U): 1
Equal seats: Looks like lalu, Shatrughan and Nitish's man in Nalanda will hold.
J & K
NC: 1 * with excerpts from The Indian Express

The 2009 Elections Map of India:

Mouse-over on the respective state names to know the election dates in that state. Click on the state names for more news.

Want to buy our India Elections 2009 Map for your website? Contact us now.

Valid CSS!Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalIndian Hotels | India News | Real Estate | New Pages | Advertise With Us | Site Map | Website By
Copyright © 2008 - 2012 TIG India Travel | Privacy Policy