BJP contesting on all 90 seats for Haryana Assembly Polls

BJP will be contesting on all the 90 seats for Haryana Assembly polls 2009. Bhartiya Janta party was said to be in talks with Kuldeep Bishnoi’s Haryana Janhit Congress (HJC) for a seat-sharing agreement, but that did not work out, and so BJP will now field its candidates across the 90 seats.

BJP’s decision can only help the already powerful Congress as it’d now see its opposition votes getting distributed between several aprties. Mayawati’s BSP had also recently announced to contest the Haryana Assembly elections 2009 alone.

BJP earlier broke its alliance with INLD and went to talks with HJC. HJC, in turn had earlier been talking of an alliance with BSP, but BSP supremo Mayawati decided to withdraw.

Gujrat Assembly By-Polls sees high turnout

Gujarat Assembly by-polls in seven Assembly constituencies on Thursday was fairly successful with with nearly 63 per cent voter turnout. Dehgam seat got the highest voting percentage of 70 to 72 per cent, while the minimum was at Danta with 56 per cent voters turning up. Six of these seats became vacant after the sitting MLA’s were elected for the Lok Sabha, and one seat was empty because of the death of the sitting legislator Popatbhai Jinjaria.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.