Congress-NCP narrow down on Maharashtra seat sharing

With less than a month to go for the Assembly Elections in Maharashtra, Congress and NCP have narrowed down to last 35 seats over which the deadlock remain. Out of 288 seats in Maharashtra Vidhansabha Assembly, the ruling combination have now come to an understanding on almost 250 seats.

Congress, however, confirms that they have decided to contest on 174 seats, leaving 114 to NCP. There has been no official confirmation on this yet from either Congress or NCP. The constituencies which are proving to be a bone of contention are in the regions of Mumbai, Konkan, Marathwada and Western Maharashtra.

Meanwhile, the Assembly by-poll results for 18 seats in Bihar were declared today, in which Lalu Prasad’s RJD won 6 seats while the ruling JDU could manage only 4. This comes as a surprise as RJD had earlier performed poorly in 2009 General elections and it was widely believed that they won’t be able to win a single seat in these 18.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.