1222 candidates in fray for Haryana Assembly Polls 2009

1222 candidates have remained in the fray for the upcoming Haryana Assembly polls on October 13th 2009, after last date to withdraw nominations ended and invalid nominations were rejected. Of these 1222 candidates, just 67 are female candidates and remaining 1155 are male candidates.

The highest number of candidates are from the Puhana assembly seat in south Haryana. The reserved SC constituencies of Kharkhoda and Kalanwali have the lowest contesting candidates with 7 candidates each.

The major political parties for this year’s elections are the Indian National Congress, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Haryana Janhit Congress (HJC), and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2009:

Meanwhile, the situation in Maharashtra is heating up, with the two Thackrey’s coming out in the open against each other. While Shiv Sena Supremo compared MNS chief Raj Thackrey as the Mohd Ali Jinnah, hell bent on breaking the Marathi people, Raj Thackrey has been spitting venom about his erstwhile political party.

One factor which may sway the balance of the Maharashtra Assembly election results is the fact that over 120 rebels from the Congress-NCP combine are contesting this poll against the official candidates. Also, the role of MNS will become very important as it might just be able to get enough votes against the BJP-Shiv Sena combine, as it did in the recently concluded General Elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.