BJP announces 87 candidate list for Bihar Assembly Polls

You are here: Home navigationIndia News navigation

BJP announces 87 candidate list for Bihar Assembly Polls

Following Congress’s 77 candidate list released on Monday, Bhartiya Janata Party came out with a list of 87 candidates for the upcoming Bihar Assembly Elections.

The 87-candidate list of BJP has 46 sitting MLA’s. Four sitting MLA’s including one current minister have been left out of the list. The list includes some old MLA’s as well as party loyalists.

Bihar Assembly has a total strength of 243 constituencies. In a seat sharing arrangement reached between the allies BJP and JD(U), BJP is going to contest the Bihar elections 2010 on 102 seats and JD(U) will fight on the remaining 141 seats. This is the same number of seats that both parties fought on in the 2005 elections. With BJP declaring 87 names, it just needs to come out with the remaining list of 15 candidates. The hold-up in the names of remaining 15 is being seen as a result of demand by JD(U) for BJP to leave its stronghold Patna seats for JD(U).

243 Assembly Constituencies for Bihar Vidhan Sabha elections 2010

Congress has not come in any seat sharing agreement with either the RJD or the LJP yet and is expected to fight on all seats alone. Its initial list of 77 candidates released on Monday has 22 Muslim candidates, 14 women candidates and a major share of upper caste candidates. Including a high percentage of Muslim candidates by Congress is being seen by many as a direct way to hit the vote bank of RJD supremo Laloo Yadav. Laloo will be counting heavily on minority votes to bring him back to power in Bihar. With the Ayodhya verdict also scheduled on 30th Sep, Congress has an eye on the fact that if the verdict goes against the Muslims, it can use the situation to garner Muslim support in Bihar against the BJP.

Related Posts

One Response to “BJP announces 87 candidate list for Bihar Assembly Polls”

  1. abahay
    4:52 pm on November 20th, 2010


Leave a Reply

Facebook  Twitter  India RSS  Add to bookmarks

Recent Posts

Popular Posts

Valid CSS!Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalIndian Hotels | India News | Real Estate | New Pages | Advertise With Us | Site Map | Website By
Copyright © 2008 - 2012 TIG India Travel | Privacy Policy