DMK-Congress deal not final yet, DMDK allies with AIADMK

DMK and Congress have not yet been able to agree on a seat sharing arrangement for the upcoming Tamil Nadu elections 2011.

On Friday, DMK agreed to give Congress 60 seats. The negotiations started with DMK offering 51 seats, then moved onto 53 seats, 58 seats and finally ending at an offer of 60 seats. However, Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad, who is handling the seat sharing talks with DMK, declined the offer of 60 seats and has requested for 63 seats, that too of the choice of Congress.

Meanwhile, J Jayalalitha’s AIADMK was able to finalize a seat sharing arrangement with DMDK. DMDK was being wooed by all major parties in Tamil Nadu, mainly because they have been able to get almost 10% votes in apst few elections. The AIADMK has decided to give Vijayakant’s Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam 41 seats.

The 2011 elections would not be a cake walk for DMK and M Karunanidhi. After the 2G scam broke out, and A Raja, who belonged to DMK, is now known to be the prime suspect in the scam, it’d be tough for DMK to disassociate themselves with the scam. Congress may try to use this to their advantage and fight the elections without allying with either DMK or AIADMK. After the elections, and based on who gets more votes, Congress can easily switch sides and be a part of the next govt!

In west Bengal however, things may not be as favourable for the Congress. Mamata Banerjee is expected to give Congress 40 seats. Congress can’t really ally with the Left Front and it knows very well, that if it decides to fight elections alone, it will only benefit Left Front and may even help them win. So, indications are that Congress will accept Mamata’s offer of 40 seats for West Bengal Assembly polls.

assembly election in 5 states

5 Indian states will go to polls for the 2011 Assembly Elections:

West Bengal Elections 2011

Tamil Nadu Elections 2011

Kerala Elections 2011



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.