DMK releases list of 119 candidates for Tamil Nadu polls

DMK has released its list of 119 candidates for the upcoming Assembly elections in Tamil Nadu.

DMk chief and the current CM of Tamil Nadu, M Karunanidhi, will contest from Tiruvarur. Since 1962, DMK chief has chosen to contest from constituencies within the Chennai district, but this time he decided to stand from his home district. DMK’s decision to leave its stronghold Chennai is being seen by many as a direct consequence of negative publicity because of the 2G scam. DMK minister A Raja is said to be the spearhead of the scam and DMK is expecting adverse results in 2011 polls. Karunanidhi’s son, M K Stalin will fight from Kolathur.

DMK candidate list has 11 women candidates out of a total of 119 seats that they are going to contest on. A whopping 19000 people applied to get a chance to contest the election on a DMK ticket!

You can take a look at all constituencies in Tamil Nadu here with their maps and past results.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.