Fate of 364 candidates in 54 constituencies of West Bengal sealed

You are here: Home navigationIndia News navigation

Fate of 364 candidates in 54 constituencies of West Bengal sealed

Fate of 364 candidates from 54 constituencies of West Bengal have been sealed in the ballot boxes today after the first phase of voting for Assembly elections 2011.

The 54 constituencies that went to polls today are from 6 districts in North Bengal. They are Coochbehar, Jalpaiguri, Darjeeling, North Dinajpur, South Dinajpur and Malda. North Bengal has traditionally remained a stronghold for Left parties, but ever since the 2009 Lok sabha elections, Left has seen a dwindle in the vote share.

While TMC and Congress are hoping to make impressive gains in the region, BJP is hoping that it’d be able to open its account here. Left Front is left wondering how hard the impact is going to be.

Meanwhile, a few voters in Jadavpur, Chief Minister’s constituency, got a rude shock when someone faking to be the CM Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee called them and threatened them to vote in his favour. A case has been filed and police is looking in the matter. Jadavpugoes to polls on April 27th Phase 3 elections.

Catch our West Bengal Election coverage here.

Leave a Reply

Facebook  Twitter  India RSS  Add to bookmarks

Recent Posts

Popular Posts

Valid CSS!Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalIndian Hotels | India News | Real Estate | New Pages | Advertise With Us | Site Map | Website By
Copyright © 2008 - 2012 TIG India Travel | Privacy Policy