Telangana issue: 72 Andhra MLAs resign

You are here: Home navigationIndia News navigation

Telangana issue: 72 Andhra MLAs resign

The Congress Govt in Andhra Pradesh is now feeling the heat after 72 MLA’s resigned today over a separate Telangana state issue.

33 Telugu Desam Party MLAs, 4 from TDP and 35 Congress MLAs submitted their resignation to Deputy Speaker Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka on Monday. MLAs from Congress include 11 ministers from the state Govt. News of MLAs resigning came out last week itself when Central Govt failed to come out with any specific solution for Telangana statehood demand.

9 Congress MPs from Telangana are also planning to resign today and they will be meeting the Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar at 5:30 PM.

The resignations have led to a political and constitutional crisis in Andhra Pradesh. the options in front of the Kiran Kumar Reddy led state Govt are very limited.

First, Congress can take support of Majlis e Ittehadul Muslimeen and also the Praja Rajyam Party and continue to rule the state, but with no ministers from 9 districts, it’d be incorrect to rule over the state. Secondly, they can delay the resignations for a few days and work out a way to pacify the MLAs, maybe by declaring something concrete on Telangana. Last option would be to dissolve the Assembly, ask for President’s Rule in the state and go for fresh polls.

Assembly elections are due in Punjab, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh and some other states in 2012 and we may as well see Andhra Pradesh added to it.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Facebook  Twitter  India RSS  Add to bookmarks

Recent Posts

Popular Posts

Valid CSS!Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalIndian Hotels | India News | Real Estate | New Pages | Advertise With Us | Site Map | Website By
Copyright © 2008 - 2012 TIG India Travel | Privacy Policy