Uttar Pradesh elections start with voting in 55 constituencies on 8th Feb

You are here: Home navigationIndia News navigation

Uttar Pradesh elections start with voting in 55 constituencies on 8th Feb

Uttar Pradesh starts its journey to choose the next state Govt tomorrow 8th Feb with voting scheduled in 55 assembly constituencies of UP.

Almost 1.70 Crore voters will get a chance to decide their own future.  The districts that will go to polls in the first phase of polls are Sitapur, Barabanki, Faizabad, Kanpur Dehat, Bahraich, Shrawasti, Balrampur, Gonda, Siddharthnagar and Basti.

Uttar Pradesh elections Phase I

The Uttar Pradesh elections are going to be a litmus test for a lot of parties. Congress has to show that all those corruption and scam cases against their ministers makes no difference to their poll outcome. BJP has to prove they are gaining ground and emerging as a winner in buildup to the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. SP and BSP have to prove they still are a force to reckon with in the largest state of India.

Recent opinion polls have all predicted that UP is looking forward to a hung verdict with a probability of SP forming Govt with the support of Congress. Though SP and Congress are now in war of words against each other, it is quite obvious that the two will unite as soon as an opportunity to form the Govt comes. Same goes with BSP and BJP. In case of BSP emerging with majority seats, BJP is sure to make an alliance with them and form the Govt.

Meanwhile, Election Commission has banned all Opinion Polls regarding first phase of UP elections till 5PM on Wednesday. Exit Polls have been banned till all the phases of UP elections are over on 3rd March.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Facebook  Twitter  India RSS  Add to bookmarks

Recent Posts

Popular Posts

Valid CSS!Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalIndian Hotels | India News | Real Estate | New Pages | Advertise With Us | Site Map | Website By
Copyright © 2008 - 2012 TIG India Travel | Privacy Policy