Guide to India, its location, states & territories

Home National Symbols MiniAbout India
Indian National Symbols

Maps of India

Know India

Major Indian festivals

About India, it's location, history & states

India, officially the Republic of India , is a country in South Asia. It is the seventh largest country by geographical area, the second most populous country, and the most populous democracy in the world. Bounded by the Indian Ocean on the south, the Arabian Sea on the west, and the Bay of Bengal on the east, India has a coastline of 7,517 kilometers (4,671 mi). It borders Pakistan to the west; China, Nepal, and Bhutan to the north-east; and Bangladesh and Myanmar (Burma) to the east. India is in the vicinity of Sri Lanka, the Maldives, and Indonesia in the Indian Ocean.

India has 2.2 % of the whole land mass which makes up the earth.. India is the 7th largest country in the world. The largest country in the world, Russia, is 5.2 times larger than India. Canada is 3.03 times bigger, China and USA are 2.9 times larger, Brazil is 2.6 times larger and Australia is 2.4 times bigger than India and rest of all countries are smaller than India.

States & Territories:

India has 28 states and 7 Union territories. Rajasthan is the largest state in India and Goa the smallest. Many of the Indian states are as large as many of the existing countries. Rajasthan is the same size as Germany, Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh are as large as Poland, Andhra Pradesh is larger than New Zealand, Uttar Pradesh is as large as United Kingdom, Tamil Nadu is as large as Greece, Haryana is larger than Switzerland and even the smallest Indian state Goa is bigger than Mauritius.

The subcontinent of India has been ruled by many different ethnic groups throughout its history, each imposing their own administrative divisions on the region. Modern India's current administrative divisions are fairly recent developments, which began to develop during British colonial rule of India. British India included almost all of present-day India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh, as well as the associated protectorate of Afghanistan and province, later colony, of Burma (Myanmar).

The former French and Portuguese colonies in India were incorporated into the Republic as the union territories of Pondicherry, Dadra, Nagar Haveli, Goa, Daman, and Diu in 1962.

Several new states and union territories have been created out of existing states since 1956. Bombay State was split into the linguistic states of Gujarat and Maharashtra on 1 May 1960 by the Bombay Reorganization Act. The Punjab Reorganization Act of 1966 divided the Punjab along linguistic and religious lines, creating a new Hindu and Hindi-speaking state of Haryana, transferring the northern districts of Punjab to Himachal Pradesh, and designating Chandigarh, the shared capital of Punjab and Haryana, a union territory. Nagaland was made a state in 1962, Meghalaya and Himachal Pradesh in 1971, and Tripura and Manipur in 1972. Arunachal Pradesh was made a union territory in 1972. The Kingdom of Sikkim joined the Indian Union as a state in 1975. Mizoram was made a state in 1986, and Goa and Arunachal Pradesh in 1987, while Goa's northern exclaves of Daman and Diu became a separate union territory. In 2000 three new states were created; Chhattisgarh(November 1, 2000) was created out of eastern Madhya Pradesh, Uttaranchal (November 9, 2000), since renamed Uttarakhand, was created out of the Hilly regions of northwest Uttar Pradesh, and Jharkhand (15 November 2000)was created out of the southern districts of Bihar. The Union Territories of Delhi and Pondicherry (renamed to Puducherry) have since been given the right to elect their own legislatures and they are now counted as small states.

National Symbols | Facts | State Maps | Maps of India | Distance-Routes | News | New Pages | Weather Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
Valid CSS! Hotel Deals | Shops | Real Estate | Tourist Buses | Website By | Advertise With Us | Resources | Site Map
©2008 - 2012 Travel India Guide | Privacy Policy .